Architecture, City Life, Life, Madison WI, Weather Vanes

Here There Be Dragons

Puff, the Magic Dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
Little Jackie Paper loved that rascal Puff,
And brought him strings and sealing wax
and other fancy stuff, Oh…

Leonard Lipton and Peter Yarrow performed by Peter, Paul, & Mary

While I’ve been out and about on my walks my eyes have been drawn towards the sky these days for some reason (probably because I’m keeping track of the falling leaves) and I’ve been noticing things I hadn’t realized were there before.  The detail on the steeple of St. Raphael’s Cathedral for one thing.

img_0231st-rbottom.jpg

img_0233straphaelsteeplereduced.jpg

 

I hope there are plans to incorporate this historical treasure into the new building.  It would be a shame to lose it.

 Today I happened across this lovely piece of whimsy perched on top of what I believe is a turn of the century Queen Anne.

img_0270dragon3.jpg

 

Happy Halloween everyone!   Stay safe!

 

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

