Architecture, Badger Cab Company, City Life, Life, New Construction, Park Street, St Mary's Hospital, Taxis

Driving Down Park Street…

The feet are the gateway to 10,000 illnesses.

Tell a FriendJapanese Proverb

I went to get my B12 shot today and on the drive home got my favorite Badger Cab driver Mike. He’s the best because of his patience and attitude towards the developmentally differently abled kids who ride with him often on their way to and from school and work. He’s got respect oozing out of his pores.

As we drove past St. Mary’s Hospital, I finally made up my mind that the new addition is just plain fugly. I’m disappointed because Madison architects have been making an excellent showing in recent years of buildings that look like they belong with the character of the older neighborhoods they are inhabiting.

The new St Mary’s addition is cold and stark. There is nothing about it that says welcome and inspires me to believe that I would find comfort and succor during an illness. It doesn’t even look efficient. Just fugly.

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

