Davis Duehr & Dean, Fraboni's Italian Specialties, Greenbush Neighborhood, Madison Metro, Madison WI, Mass Transit, WISC-TV, WISCONSIN

Ummm…I’ve Got a Screw Loose

I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
There was something so pleasant about that place.
Even your emotions have an echo
In so much space

Gnarls Barkley St Elsewhere Albumn

Today was the first day I have been out of this apartment in over 10 days.   I think I over did it.  I hope I didn’t set myself back so I end up trapped in this three room prison again.  Not that it’s so terrible with the PC for a companion and a window into the wide wide world.

It was Harry the shrink day and I had to go all the way to the South side of the city. Since I was out and about I dropped off the bus in the Greenbush neighborhood and stopped in at Davis Duehr & Dean to have the loose screw on my main pair of glasses tightened. I tried to do it myself but I couldn’t see well enough with any of the other glasses I had on hand to get the darn whatchamajiggits all lined up.

Keith fixed me up in a matter of minutes. I just love that place. They all have such wonderful senses of humor and they sure know how to treat their customers well. Pat remembered me and paid me such a nice compliment about this blog. Made me blush with happiness. I definitely give them a 10 in customer satisfaction.

Next stop was Fraboni’s Italian Specialties for some fresh Caonnoli and some Italian Sausage. To die for. The Greenbush neighborhood has one of Madison’s more interesting histories. Right next to Josie’s Restaurant is a tiny little building that used to be a meeting hall for the Greenbush Labor Union. It’s a bar now.

From there I caught the #85 bus downtown. That bus is a free campus commuter bus which is really nice. I can stop off in the Greenbush neighborhood on Tuesdays and dink around all I want and it doesn’t cost me a penny more in transportation as long as I catch that #85 back downtown. Plus that bus runs every 15 minutes. And the drivers I’ve met up with on that route are pleasant and accommodating.

With the recent madness happening between bus drivers and passengers I reckon Madison Metro needs all the good publicity it can get. The rude and possibly racist drivers are few and far between. I’ve seen some behavior from one or two drivers I would call racist and it definitely needs to be weeded out. In the future, I’m not going to be a silent observer. I’ll call the Metro’s office and report it. If we all did that driver’s rude behavior would soon disappear.

Not that I think the wannabe passenger was without fault. Hanging off the mirror of the bus was a bit beyond the pale, Dude. You’re just damn lucky you weren’t hurt.

Of course we should also report exceptional behavior that is helpful. I guess I’ll call in tomorrow or maybe there is a way to write them on their website and tell them how much I appreciate it that the #13 Driver waited for me to chase my hat down when it blew away just as I was getting on the bus. He could just as well have driven away.

Now I know my readers in the deep south (and I have at least one that I know of) are going to laugh until their bellies ache but today was a scorcher up here in Wisconsin. According to WISC-TV 3000 (that’s local channel3) it’s currently 80* with 81% humidity giving us a heat index of 84*. I don’t know what the high was today but as my Gran used to put it I was glistening as I was going about my errands today. The only saving grace was that wind that blew my hat away.

B

Standard

2 thoughts on “Ummm…I’ve Got a Screw Loose

  1. pat says:

    B,
    The flattery appears to be a two-way street….I’m honored to be mentioned by name in your wonderful musings about the wacky world of Madison. Your “tribute” was brought to the attention of my supervisor via the marketing director at Dean. She brought a copy in to show me and I was proud to reply “oh, I’ve already read that.” I hope that helps to increase your readership numbers….you deserve it!
    Stay cool this weekend,
    Pat

  2. bairbresine says:

    Hey, good to hear this Blog’s plugs are making all the way up to Marketing. Think I could get a cool new pair of glasses out of the deal? *snort* I’m so please you *and* they like the Blog. Say Hey to Keith and everyone else in the office there for me.

    B

Leave a Reply

