City Life, Life, Madison WI, Senior Citizens, Things to do/Places to go

When I’m Sixty Four…

When I get older losing my hair,
Many years from now.
Will you still be sending me a valentine
Birthday greetings bottle of wine.

If I’d been out till quarter to three
Would you lock the door,
Will you still need me, will you still feed me,
When I’m sixty-four

The Beatles When I’m Sixty-Four” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney

I was over at the Madison Senior Citizens Center today helping my friend Jerry get up to speed on a PC. He and his honey Sharon have one but they don’t know diddly what to do with it after they turn it on. I taught him how to get on the Internet last week and this week I mainly just sat there and did my thing while he did his. He pretty much had it down pat. He’s a fast learner, that Jerry.

That’s been my unofficial volunteer work lately, helping people learn how to use their PCs or the ones at the Senior Center Computer Lab and/or the Library. I enjoy doing it and I guess I’m pretty good at it. I helped one older lady who has arthritis put the onscreen keyboard on her PC so she could use it when her hands hurt too bad to use her keyboard to send email. She didn’t even know such a thing was available.

The Madison Senior Center has so many things going on that can enrich the lives of those of us who are disabled and older who live in this neighborhood. Actually I guess anyone of any age in the entire city can take advantage of at least some of the programs here. They are certainly allowed to take part in the computer courses offered and the open computer lab time on Fridays.

Open computer lab varies according to the volunteer who supervises but it generally starts between 12:30 and 1:00 PM and lasts for two hours. There are 12 computers available and it’s a first come first served basis. At the moment there is hardly anyone in there most Fridays. I’ve decided I’m going to try to drum up a little business for them so if you’d spread the word that would be great. I”d like to see a full house every Friday because it’s a shame to see such a wonderful resource going to waste for lack of knowledge about it in the community.

The computer classes begin in the fall and are given by MATC instructors. Some of the other more interesting classes going on at the moment are Ortho-Bionomy, Supervised Bridge, Beaded Embroidery, and Belly Dancing for Seniors. I really have to get my act together and get in on the Belly Dancing for Seniors the next time it is given! <heh> There are Gentle Exercise classes and they even have n exercise room with all the usual equipment set up in it for the more active and physically fit Seniors to use with a trainer in residence.

They have a great nutrition program for Seniors and serve lunch every day at 11:30. There are dances, movies, and card parties every week. The Senior Center also hosts self-help groups like AA and Alanon.

All in all, The Madison Senior Center is a great resource in Madison . The staff is pleasant and warm and they are very nice to work with. They’ll go out of their way to help you have a great experience at their facility so if you’re over 60 give Sally a call before noon and make a reservation for lunch the next day. The number is 266-6416.

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

