Banks, City Life, Life, Madison WI, Metropolitan Place, Money

Chase Me Here, Chase Me There, Chase Me Until You Catch Me!

I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies. If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency, first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around [the banks] will deprive the people of all property until their children wake-up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered. The issuing power should be taken from the banks and restored to the people, to whom it properly belongs.

Thomas Jefferson (1743 – 1826), Letter to the Secretary of the Treasury Albert Gallatin (1802)I just wrote out the check for my rent next month and realized that I only have one check left. Uh oh…

I’ve been having this big debate with myself about whether or not I should change banks. You see, when I first moved into the Three Threes I started banking at First Federal because it was a hop, skip and a jump away and besides, they gave my friend Karen $10.00 and me a suitcase on wheels. Such a deal. I would have rather had a toaster but I guess toasters are passe`.

I was really happy with First Federal, too. They were good to me, too until they sold out to the bank that shall not be named because you know, you can get sued for saying nasty things about banks and other corporate entities in public places where everyone can read it. Not that they could get anything from me but WordPress might not be too happy if they got yanked into court because I said what I think about the bank that shall not be named on their software. By the way, the bank that shall not be named sure did a nice job on the new facade for their location closest to me. Love the clock.
Anyhow, the point isn’t whether or not I am going to change banks, it is when and to what bank I am going to take my business. Chase Bank has been wooing me and my neighbors with offers of relatively large sums of money when you compare it to our monthly incomes. They aren’t all that much farther away than the bank that shall not be named. Only a couple of more hops and a skip or two.

They started out offering us $50.00. Now I have a check sitting here for $100.00 that I could take up to the Chase Bank on Monday and by the end of the day I could have my starter checks all ready to go and everything transferred over. I only write about three checks a month because I use my debit card for everything else and do the rest of my banking by automatic withdrawal. I wish my Property Management Company offered that so I wouldn’t have to worry about the rent every month.

It’s so nice to know that my bills are getting paid on time and I don’t have to do a thing because even my social security is automatically deposited. Heck I don’t even have to hop skip and jump to the bank if I don’t want to. I can just use my debit card and pay the damn fees to buy my quarters for the laundry. Of course if I change banks, I’d have to wait about two weeks to get my debit card. That would be a pain. But it and would be a great incentive to walk up to the square for the cash I’d need and I’d probably save money in the long run. <heh>

I was hoping a bank would move into the Metropolitan Place (wow nice website guys! Love the piano music.) retail space that has gone up on Mifflin and Broom Street. One might do so yet and if it does I want to transfer my banking to that bank so maybe I’ll just wait awhile longer to make the decision. Maybe by then Chase will have upped the ante to $150.00 and I’ll decide I can make those extra hos and skips uptown.

There’s also the prestige of banking at one of the oldest banks in the country. This is the prestigious Chase Manhattan Bank we’re talking about. Not some little entity that is going to get bought out from under me because of a dot.com crisis or an idiotic home equity loan miscalculation. This is solid money in the bank stability, folks. The other side of the couin is that they are out there swallowing up smaller banks, trying to take over the world. They’re one of the largest banks in the world and they want MY business? Bad enough they’ll pay $100.00 fo it? :^/ What’s up with that?

Maybe I should just order some more checks for the account I have at the bank that shall not be named and mull this over some more, but damn, the least I can order is 100. It will take me two years to use them up! Maybe I should order some pretty ones so I can do something creative with them like decoupage a box or something while I’m mulling. <heh>

Decisions! Decisions! Decisions!

What do you know, I got through this whole thing and didn’t say one bad thing about the bank that shall not be named except that I don’t like it.  I guess I won’t break my niceness record now.  I’m in a feel-good mode so I’ll just stay there but boy that bank that shall not be named,  what they did!

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

