Hillary Clinton, Madison WI, Politics, Presidential Election 2008, The Progressive

The Rights and Responsibilites Citizenship

A vote is like a rifle: its usefulness depends upon the character of the user.

Theodore Roosevelt (1858 – 1919)

I was brought up to believe that taking part in the democratic process was not only a right and a privilege, it was a responisbility and not voting in an election at any level of governemnt simply was not an option. So I am necessarily politically involved. I keep track of what is going on and I read both conservative and liberal opinions because my parents taught me to get a balanced point of view. My extended family was fairly well divided amongst liberals, moderates, and conservatives. Political discussions took place often and were lively and interesting.

It’s past time to start thinking seriously about the Presidential elections coming up in 2008. Ruth Conniff wrote a nice opinion piece about Hillary Clinton in The Progressive this week. Both Ms. Conniff and The Progressive are from Madison and it makes me proud to think I walk the same streets as Matthew Rothschild, Ms. Conniff and the rest of the staff. I even know which coffee shop they hang out at so every now and then I go over there and breathe the same air they breathe. If I’m lucky, I get a peek of one of them. <heh>

Ms Conniff has pretty much said what I feel when I think about voting for Hillary Clinton. Hillary just doesn’t make me feel what I wanted to feel when I voted for the first female presiidential candidate. She’s too slick. Too, establishment. Too,too damn caught up in all those political games all the other candidates are playing.

I’m not sure exactly what I expected from her but it wasn’t what Hillary has become. I want to vote for her because she’s a woman but I want to feel about her like I feel about Obama and I just don’t. Truth of the matter is, I don’t like her very much.

Oh she’s OK, I suppose, for a politician. But that’s the problem, she’s a politician and she has politician baggage. She voted to give Bush the OK to go to Iraq and she hasn’t backed away from that position either. She’s a professional who knows how to hit all the right notes otherwise.

I wish she was just al little more avant garde–somebody to get more excited about who would send a little thrill through my veins when I heard her speak. The only really great thing I can think of if we elect her is that we get Bill back in the Whitehouse. Otherwise, ho hum.

That’s a pretty sad comment, huh? The first viable female candidate and she bores the panties off the women voters but her hubby still wows ’em! SAD.

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

