Glasses, Life, Madison WI, Trifocals

A Day Spent Without the Sight…

or sound of beauty, the contemplation of mystery, or the search of truth or perfection is a poverty-stricken day …

Lewis Mumford

I can see what search terms people use top get here and I was rather amused to find that one of them was trifocals.  Yup, trifocals.  I wear them.  Sometimes they are a PITA (pain in the ass for those of you unfamiliar with that acronym)  Most of the time I never even know I have them on.

When do they bother me?  Well, when I have to make quick adjustments between one lens strength to another.  My eyes have always had difficulty focusing even when I had better than 20/20 vision and I did all the way into my 30s. They just don’t adjust well to sudden changes in depth perception.  That’s why I always left 6 car lengths in front of me instead of 4.  Cautious.

I thought I needed glasses when my eyes started losing their keen ability to see better than every body else could see but I still had better than 20/20 vision.  The Opthamologist ran me out of his office and laughed at me.  What did I know?

In my mid 40s I suddenly needed reading glasses.  When I was 50 I needed distance correction.  Then I couldn’t see what was goingo on on the computer very well so I had to have trifocals.  That’s when the trouble started.  I’d look at my feet and get dizzy. 

So now Davis Duehr and Dean on Monroe Street has set me up with two pair of glasses.  Trifocals and plain old distance.  I don’t get dizzy looking at my feet anymore when I’m walking if I have the distance glasses on.  I’m tall enough that my feet are far away enough they look fine. 

It’s been kind of hard getting used to switching glasses all the time.  Luckily I usually don’t remember to take the trifocals off until I’m waiting at the elevator  looking in the mirror for stray strands of hair.  Then I remember to switch glasses out so I always have both pairs with me.

If I had to choose a sense to lose it would not be my eye sight.  It seems like everything I love doing most requires my eyes:  Reading, writing, photography, drawing, sewing, knitting, crocheting, playing on my PC.  I suppose I’d adjust but gosh…I just can’t imagine.

Standard

Leave a Reply

