Adult children, Baseball, City Life, Family, Grandchildren, Healthy Food, Madison WI

And it’s One! Two! Three! Strikes You’re Out At the Old Ballgame

Then from 5,000 throats and more there rose a lusty yell;
It rumbled through the valley, it rattled in the dell;
It knocked upon the mountain and recoiled upon the flat,
For Casey, mighty Casey, was advancing to the bat.

There was ease in Casey’s manner as he stepped into his place;
There was pride in Casey’s bearing and a smile on Casey’s face.
And when, responding to the cheers, he lightly doffed”

Ernest Lawrence Thayer from “Casey at the Bat”
It was a slow start and the Mallards playing in Muskie uniforms were down by one before they hit their stride Saturday night (the 9th of June) and came back to finish with a crowd pleasing 9-1 rout against the Moondogs. Unfortunately by the time they began to show any strength my Grandson had lost any interest in sitting still and enjoying the game.

So we hit the souvenir stands and all that kid wanted was some plastic fish that cost 50 cents apiece although I saw him eyeing the little wooden bats. I just know his parents told him he had to go easy on Grandma’s pockets.

He really, really wanted a balloon from the balloon art guy who I happen to know from the birthday lunches at the Senior Center. Tim works for tips and I happen to know he puts in a lot of hours standing on his feet blowing up ballons at various functions. Gabe got a black (his favorite color) dinosaur and Tim got a damn good tip. I slipped a bat into my backpack as wellwhich made me Grammy Whammy #1. I’ve been saving for months for this.

We missed most of the fun stuff on the field though. By the time we got back it was almost time to go home (or rather for Gabe to get on the road for his family vacation) and we missed the last run altogether.

My son is in big trouble because he left all the healthy snacks in the truck and bought the kid everything he shouldn’t have. Daughter is peeved because she had a kid wound up tighter than an over wound watch. Oy!

Still and all, I had a good time with my Gr-son and son and we all agreed we would like to do it again. Mom and Dad said they would like to go too. I guess I better get someone to front money for the tickets because I looked for a Saturday in July and things are getting pretty skimpy already.

B

Standard

Leave a Reply

